Skip to content

Binders of Women and My Distaste for the 2012 Election

October 30, 2012

I’m not into politics when it comes to the actual act of electing people for office; politics for politics sake interests me not at all (now, if we’re talking international relations and making actual decisions, not just sparring Republican-Democrat style, I’m all in). But I’m going to give my two cents now on the 2012 presidential election, and I’ll put it simply like this: any man who feels that women can be ordered from a page like buying a bikini from a VS catalogue is never, ever going to get my vote.

The election is just a few weeks away, and if I do end up voting, it’ll be because I don’t want Romney to win. I voted Barack Obama into the White House, and while he did manage to end the War in Iraq and say maa as-salaama, Osama, I just don’t feel he needs to be in the White House four more years. He fights for the common man-great. He wants European-style national healthcare-great, except for the fact that’s it’s not really European style, because it will only affect the truly poor. Europeans, no matter how much money they make, all get the same healthcare. Why does a person have to be on absolute welfare to get any assistance in this country?

An article I recently translated from the Nouvel Observateur stated that the Democrats will probably win because they have the upper hand when it comes to social media. I would agree that social media plays a large role; so does Mitt sticking his foot in his mouth at every opportunity possible. If you make that many gaffes just speaking, what’s going to happen if you’re actually in office and have to act, Mitt?

Another French article I translated said that, “if we weren’t so afraid of Mitt….we’d laugh,” and I wholly relate: Mitt’s binder quote, if it wasn’t so alarmingly daft and sexist and oblivious, is actually kind of funny. Like, you just receive all these binders upon binders full of women and what, they come with resumes (and no doubt pictures) and you can just order them like a sexy Victoria’s Secret bikini, or a mail-order bride? (Speaking of, I noticed in my Google spam folder an ad from ‘Anastasya,’ touting Russian beauties the other day, and I thought, since when did I become a 44-year old womanizing man with a penchant for girls who don’t speak English?)

I just want to ask: Mitt, do you know it’s 2012 and not 1953? Women in this country actually work and have jobs and oftentimes do better in school then men. Oh, and Mitt, if you’re going to ask for ‘binders full of women,’ then make sure you actually hire some while you’re in office, because the fact of the matter is that women in office actually went down while you were Governor of Massachusetts.

The ever-techie Democrats had a field day with internet memes over the whole binder gaffe.

Bill Clinton loves the binders. Sourced from a fellow WordPress’er, firstcityline

Had to laugh at this, even though I like Bill Clinton.

“Nobody Puts Baby in a Binder” Sourced from bindersfullofwomen.tumblr.com

No one, not no one and no how!

I have one thing to say to all the little boys running this supposedly-Democratic government, as per the Great Hillary Clinton:

Sourced from The Atlantic.com

Hillary for president in 2016.

 

Links:

1. http://leplus.nouvelobs.com/contribution/657739-obama-1-romney-0-pourquoi-la-strategie-web-peut-faire-gagner-le-democrate.html

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2013 12:59 AM

    It’s amazing to visit this site and reading the views of all colleagues concerning this article, while I am also zealous of getting know-how.

  2. July 16, 2013 12:02 PM

    Hello there I am so glad I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I
    am here now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at
    the moment but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up
    the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

