Skip to content

Observing America: Damby’s Take

April 26, 2012

I think what pplls all over the world which are keep saying that usa is the most beautifully country in the world is untrue I can agree with them just in 70 % there is a lot of point I like it and there is a lot of points I dislike it.

So starts Damby’s observations on America, a country he’s only been living in for barely three weeks–in short, not much longer than the average tourist’s stay. In keeping with the authenticy I am publishing his thoughts here unedited grammatically. Isn’t it interesting how he uses texting shorthand like “ppls” despite that English is not his first language? A lot of people abroad are slowly learning English through what they see on the internet, where grammar and spelling are irrelevant.

I think his starting off point-mentioning what everyone else abroad thinks about America-is both interesting and telling. America was always known as the “Land of Milk and Honey” where dreams came true, and despite our somewhat tarnished reputation abroad (at least when it comes to foreign policy) that fantasy picture of our country still holds true. Does the fact that Damby starts off his observations by refuting this point mean that he dislikes America? Well, apparently not: he did say 70%……

first I breath clean air koz in middle east specially egypt the pollutions are too much and also peoples respect each other and drivers and traffic all things are organize and tidy , the prices of food comparing by the average. Of salaries here really nice,what I found strange that th food taste is different for example in my country I have MacDonald but its different taste her the pepsi and most of foods are different.

One of the first things people always asked me in Egypt was, how does the Pepsi taste? I personally tasted no difference, but apparently even TGI Friday’s here tastes different than in Egypt. As for his comment on cars, well, I let him try driving in Sag Harbor, and he  definitely forgot that we have rules on the road!

Internet. = in Egypt internet just for Facebook and mailing and it’s not easy to get what u want if u looking about something or asking about anything but what I found here that the internet u can. Do what all u want or to ask about what u  want or buy or sell or find place by map by detail and how u can go and the name of trains and how long time u will take even by car by taxi by bus by train or even walking. So internet here is a life without u can’t live in usa .. I found also that most of ppls are helpful not like the other countries thought. About them the freedom is number one no one can aske u what are u doing or its not allowed if u will not hurt anybody so u can do what u want

The internet is something of a godsend to the Western world: even in France you can use Google to find whatever you need just by typing in “doctor” or “McDonald’s” or the address of where you’ll be staying. Damby learned to use Google maps thanks to me; if it wasn’t for the internet, I would have had problems during my study abroad in France, during my trip to Barcelona, hell, even living in NYC I would be totally lost! The internet is the perfect tool to help one discover a place, and it’s important to get more accurate Google Maps in major cities like Cairo.

I found also all peoples that there age from 17 to 26 just think how to be inviting and just think how to dress well and care of just want ppls look at them specially girls and most of guy dress shit and sucks and strange most of them take rapper as style on their outfit hat with earring which I hate it and look strange. And the trousers to be biggest size in the world and carry iPhones 4G and the head phone doesn’t leave his ear ever ever ever even if he is sleeping iam sure but I found some guys wore nice but I found that they weren’t American.

New York City is hands down the most fashionable place in the States but there actually are a lot of people who, in Damby’s words, dress “saber sagii”–a.k.a. unfashionably. Since Damby works in fashion he might have a bit of a critical eye, but hey, fashion is all about critical eyes. I have come to the conclusion that a lot of people-especially in Queens-are still rocking the rap look. Just a comment, but I’m pretty sure showing your a** because your jeans are around your knees went out of fashion a while ago!

 There a lot of ppls asking for money I dunno how koz I know that government give money for ppls who couldn’t find work and most o them are have something wrong in their mind , also most of girls always look for money and dress nice and look sexy and want all guys look at her or want to date her and part of them are fine and need love and want someone to love her and what I found between the age that I told u about it just there days like that all week work weekend they must drink and have sex and some of them drink every day and most of them both girls or boy think of sex and drink to have fun to have fun. No one want to meet someone to be just friend no one like the other koz of his or her personality if she is smart or he is smart.

American culture is radically different from Arab culture, especially the more-conservative Egyptian customs and traditions. That being said, young people around the world generally share the same aspirations and lifestyles, but Damby’s remarks clearly show how strange and alien life for an average young New Yorker is from the average young Egyptian’s. Going to a club to drink sexily, meet members of the opposite sex and-gasp-maybe even have sex with one of them is unheard of in Egypt, but it is also unfair to completely characterize all New Yorkers as being vapid, superficial and materialistic although, as a party-goer at the more upscale clubs here in Manhattan, I  can definitely tell you that a lot of the girls are vapid!

And most of them have no target in their life just live day by day he don’t know what will do next years or something and if he looking for work he will just work to have money but he will not have a motivate to just promoted in his work go to next step to be manager. In his work or something like that has no goals but what I found there is appls for 20 years have the same position in their job how that really funny and also most of this age did not finish there educations just high school and thanks god. There a lot of them did not go to college. what I like here is that ppls are hard worker always be on time fast pace. Straight forward and if they have a task do it 100% don’t like risk I mean they don’t do something if they know it has risk although maybe its something good for them and

I thought Damby’s take on our work ethic to be both off-the-mark and yet somewhat true. Our world image as hardworkers is generally true, and I would certainly say we’re much harder workers than people I met in Egypt, but among young people America’s work ethic is kind of lacking. We want money, but we don’t neccessarily know how to get it. We feel ambitious, but it’s tough in today’s economy. A lot of young people in the Hamptons do seem to lack ambition or at least a sense of practicality and real-world view, which I can only attribute to the fact that growing up in such a sheltered, paradisical environment with parents who generally can support you only coddles young people [from out there].

They have nice advertising and fantastic media and Technology but the life in nyc is really different than other places. I went to sag harbor it was big different in nyc stress all things go fast so crowed but in sag harbor quiet so simple no noise ppls are so simple trees and empty streets if u throw a nail u will hear it when it fall on the floor.

Damby and I visited Sag Harbor, which for me as a ‘hostess’ was an experience that I’d been waiting for ever since I met him. Sag Harbor, being the Eden that it is, is so absolutely insanely different from Cairo that I was dying to see his jaw drop; after all, my friends from the Manhattan had been spellbound by it, and they were American! “Now I feel like I’m truly in America,” he told me, as we whizzed by farmfields, blossoming trees and looming mansions.

Perhaps he felt like he was truly in the Land of Milk and Honey now, eh? If America represents to the foreigner their wildest dreams, perhaps Damby’s dreams of Paradise are a place completely unlike Egypt: seasonal, lush, quiet, peaceful, beautiful, and surrounded by  water.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 27, 2012 3:58 PM

    Love this post and the comparisons between cultures. It’s great insight into the notes of both. Thank you so much for sharing. I’ve missed your blogs!

    Pink.

Leave a Reply

