Skip to content

Food a Barcelona

January 19, 2012

I can’t help but do a short post on the food of Barcelona. Even though I have a food phobia, I still enjoyed the food here and, especially, sitting in a cafe. Back home I never, ever eat out, so sitting in a cafe and watching people walk by is a pleasure for me (and yes, that is a totally typical thing that tourists comment about when they travel abroad to Europe, but I seriously can’t get enough of people watching even in the USA! This is what shy people do, they observe!)

Here, a picture of  a ham and cheese sandwich and Kas limonata, arguably the best meal one can get in Barcelona (a mon avis).

In France I ate a ham and cheese on baguette every.single.day. Sandwiches in the USA will never come anywhere close. I tried to copy my favourite sandwich at home and failed miserably; the ham was never as salty or good. Thus, I was thrilled to find out that the sandwiches in Barcelona were more or less just as good (although they were missing a generous helping of butter).

Kas limonata is heavenly (Kas even has it’s own Facebook). It’svery similar to San Pellegrino limonata (the tastiest drink in the world, which I was lucky enough to drink everyday at my old job, which let me take home a couple of caseloads when the hotel closed). Why doesn’t the USA believe in limonata?

The following picture is of me and Barry the elephant. When my sister and I saw “barry the elephant” on the dessert menu at this cafe on Las Ramblas, we had to order it. Barry, as you can see, is a little plastic elephant served on a plate….

…And when you unscrew his tummy, he has vanilla ice cream inside!  Although the ice cream was definitely Dixie-cup quality, the thrill of ordering a little plastic elephant was too much for this cuteness-loving sweet-tooth to stand.

To continue with the sweetness, my sister and I were equally thrilled to find Kinder treats in Barcelona. My sister couldn’t resist buying a Kinder “Sorpresa” egg, which is a hollow chocolate egg that contains a little toy inside. This one turned out to hold a little paintbrush in the shape of a man (his ‘hair’ was the brush) that you could wear on your finger and paint with. He even came with some watercolors! Kinder sweets are too cute.

Lastly, it wouldn’t be a post about Spanish food without mentioning tapas! Tapas are basically hor d’oeuvres. Despite being a picky eater (and not understanding the pictures nor the Catalan words) I did try two types of tapas, which came served in little round wooden bowls. The first were mushrooms drenched in some type of sauce. They tasted good, but I just can’t stand the texture of mushrooms (too rubbery). The other tapas were little roasted potatoes which were hot but tasted very good.

By the time I left Barcelona, I was stuffed with limonata, baguette, cheese, ham and more cheese and ham (their pizza’s feature a layer of ham underneath the ham) and I could still eat more of it. As a matter of fact, I’m dreaming of it right now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 9:43 AM

    Those pics made me hungry 🙂

    I also like observing people, tho at times I guess I should act more

  2. January 25, 2012 12:51 PM

    The elephant dessert is the cutest thing ever! And I don’t know why America is against limonata – I’m still trying to figure out why we don’t make our own clotted cream!!! Sheesh. We have cows and weight issues, so what’s the holdup? 😉

    • January 25, 2012 4:50 PM

      Hehe isn’t he? 😛 I don’t think I’ve ever tried clotted cream, so I can’t speak for it, but I’ve also heard people say that our brands of yogurt are pathetic (I don’t eat yogurt either). Oh, and i do wish that we had Kinder chocolate products!

Leave a Reply

