Skip to content

Travel, Hostels and Barcelona

December 30, 2011

There is nothing better than traveling. Traveling educates the mind, educates the soul; traveling erases boundaries and erases ignorance. I’m not expounding upon anything that hasn’t been said before–after not sleeping for 24 hours, my mind is currently not functioning well enough to give witty opinion on the values of travel.

This writer has just landed in Barcelona, Spain; in fact, I’ve only been in the country for about three hours.Like any other broke but aspiring “youth” I’ve booked my sister and I a stay at a hostel off Las Ramblas in the Quarter Gotic. This isn’t my first hostel experience-I stayed in one in Paris-but the difference is that that time I only shared a bathroom, not a bedroom. There are four other beds in my room–one of which will belong to me, one to my sister when she lands–and I’ve already woken up one of my roommates after bustling in the door with my ten tons of luggage. Yes, unlike most hostel-goers, I do not travel lightly with only a backpack, especially since I am going to Egypt for a month after this.

Have you been to Barcelona before? Have you ever stayed in a hostel? Share your experiences; I’ll try to be on to read and post more during my stay here (can’t ever get away from the computer!) For now, I’ll keep this post short; forgive it’s more personal, less-analytical style. It’s time for this weary traveler to sleep!

If I don’t get back on before New Years Eve, Happy New Year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2012 11:22 AM

    Okay, I’m dying of envy over here! I studied abroad in Madrid and went all over Spain … everywhere except Barcelona. Hopefully I will get to go this year. How is it that you are able to travel around all the time? Is this work-related at all? What a dream come true … enjoy!

  2. January 7, 2012 10:55 AM

    How was MAdrid? Did you get to go to Ibiza? Spain was originially on my bucket list for Ibiza–I’m dying to go there! I guess this means I’ll have to go back to Spain lol. And no, it’s notwork related at all. My husband lives in Egypt, which is why I’ve been there how many times now….I studied abroad in France my last semester of college, and all my other vacations were taken prior to that….I’ve basically been a bum iin the past year since I graduated in the sense I didn’t get a “real job” so I could go back to Egypt when neccessary, Anyways now that I just wrote my life storylol, thank you!

Leave a Reply

