Skip to content

The Occupy D.C. Protests

November 22, 2011

Exiting the dark and gloomy Farragut Metro station stop, I found myself for the first time in downtown D.C. by myself. The rain was coming down, and as I trudged along, trying to look at street signs from under my umbrella, I couldn’t help but think that I usually have good luck with the weather when traveling. No such luck this time, I supposed.

My first stop on my D.C. itinerary were Occupy Wall Street’s capital spin-off, Occupy D.C. Located at MacPherson Square, not too far from the Farragut Metro stop, I figured it would be a good place to start. After all, what a better way to start my tour of the capital than to see some actual politics in play?

A great poster of Rosa Parks on the side of a tent. I must say, I love this quote. Rosa Parks sure knew how, and what, to protest.

A cool piece of art/propaganda. How do the colours not run from the rain? I guess non-washable paint.

posterrr

What came first, the phoenix or the fire?

A statue standing watch over the protester’s tents. This was the center of the square, where most of the hubbub was.

Approaching the tents. It was a pretty quiet encampment.

More tents. Everyone was either sleeping, or hiding.

A mystical sort of tent at one of the entrances, decorated with a ying-yang sign, the Eye of Horus, and some triangle-like shape which I’m not sure about. Anybody know what it is?

Overall, I was struck by how calm and peaceful the Occupy DC encampment was, in contrast to OWS in NYC which I saw back in October. People were able to walk around the square easily, as it more or less is it’s own floating island and therefore people don’t need to pass close to it. There were no policemen milling about, either, which was quite surprising, but then again, the protesters themselves really weren’t milling about. Perhaps it was because of the rain, but their camp seemed rather small and lonely, as though they were encamped on a lone stretch of woods rather than an urban park.

There were no drummers, no people relaying in the people’s voice. There was a little hubbub around one area where some people had erected stalls with posters. There was a bright-coloured medical tent, and another public library. I took my pictures, read some of the posters propped along the fence, and decided to move on.

Will the Occupy DC occupiers eventually be kicked out and evicted like those were recently in NYC? How will this movement end? I guess we shall find out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 4:03 AM

    I also like the poster of Rosa Parks, probably my fave 🙂 & the quote is brilliant – what is the point of achieving something pure in a malicious way?
    xx

    • December 3, 2011 8:24 PM

      Me too–and very true, if you do something malicious to achieve pure results, it’s kind of hypocritical in my opinion….

  2. December 2, 2011 8:14 PM

    I really don’t understand just what the deal is; do these people have a clear-cut agenda?

Leave a Reply

