Skip to content

Washington, D.C. Part 1: A Study in Grey

November 19, 2011

Most Americans make a pilgrimage to the center of America’s democracy,

The Capitol Building.

Washington D.C., when they are just 12- and 13-year old middle school students giggling and posing cheesily with their classmates as they go through the requisite tours, see the requisite sites and are probably more interested in being on a field trip than the actual purpose of the field trip.

My first trip to Washington, D.C. was different, different in that I approached the city not as a 13 year old girl with limited knowledge of the world around her, although admittedly still a rather young woman: I approached D.C. with both interest and-perhaps?-wariness.

I have traveled more times out of the United States than within it, day trips to NYC notwithstanding. I know more about other countries, their landmarks and features than I do about my own homeland’s. Thus, I was quite interested to see how my nations capital appeared to me. Would it be full of the grandeur that monuments such as the Lincoln Memorial and Washington Monument suggest? Would I feel the stirs of patriotism in the fall air as I crossed the Potomac not in a rowboat a la George Washington but by bridge?

My regretfully brief time in D.C. was, alas, not so much full of grandeur and more tinted in shades of grey. It rained basically the whole time. Nevertheless, I was still able to snap a few photos with my old digital camera as I huddled under my umbrella. The upsides? It was strikingly warm for November, and no crowds! I wandered around by myself (my friend, an intern for a senator, was busy at work) without much tripping over hordes of tourists.

The Capitol building at night. I must say, I do love this building and had a great time touring it.

The beautiful ceiling of the rotunda!

More of the ceiling and wall of the rotunda.

A beautiful Czech chandelier in the Capitol building. What can I say, I am drawn to sparkly things!

A plaque in the Capitol building commemorating those who died in the plane crash Sept. 11 in Pennsylvania. Linda Gronlund was a high school classmate of my father’s. It shows how small  the world really is.

The Washington Monument. It really was that cloudy/foggy, unfortunately.

A French patriot?

Beautiful town houses and park across from the White House.

The Executive Building, which was beautiful and imposing.

The White House, which was so NOT beautiful nor imposing! This picture is not great (understatement, I’m sure you’re saying), but the quality suits the building kind of perfectly, in my opinion, because I found the presidential mansion to be insignificant on the landscape of DC. When I passed the opposite side at first, I didn’t even realize that I was looking at it until I saw a sign! As far as residencies of world leaders (past or present) go, the White House would not come out on top.

I’d still like to go in it though. Maybe next time.

Photos of the DC protests in MacPherson Square in the next post. They’re much more political-seeming then a bunch of buildings!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 3:02 AM

    Great Story .

  2. November 20, 2011 7:29 AM

    Stunning buildings!
    I’d love to visit Washington DC one day.

  3. November 21, 2011 1:02 AM

    Thank you both!
    And yes, @London Caller you should, it’s like a walking history/fact book 🙂

  4. November 25, 2011 11:01 PM

    Ana – you should have let me know that you were in town so I can give you a proper tour. I have been in DC long enough… I have perfected it over the years. Either way, glad you enjoyed it!

    • November 27, 2011 7:38 PM

      LOL my name isn’t Ana—‘Ana’ means “I” in Arabic–but thank you anyways for the gracious offer. DC is definitely a place all Americans should visit once in their life.

  5. December 2, 2011 8:16 PM

    Cool shots! Great title!

    • December 3, 2011 8:21 PM

      Eh, I work with a cr*ppy camera. And I’m kinda shy of taking pictures, especially of people 🙂 But thank you! 🙂

  6. Nancy Madore permalink
    September 13, 2012 5:18 PM

    Hi. I like your blog. Is that picture of the capital building at night yours to sell?

    • September 14, 2012 8:15 PM

      Hi, thank you! I took the photo but it’s not copyrighted or anything–I’m not a professional photog or anything!

Leave a Reply

